top of page
Combinatorial Ars Sonata No.5

Combinatorial Ars Sonata No.5

SKU: 3E.62

Title / Title: Sonata Ars Combinatoria No. 5

Composer / Composer: Leo Brouwer

Format / format: for guitar / for guitar

Year / Year: 2012-2013

Edicion Actual / Current edition: 2019

ISBN: 978-959-7192-74-9

Indications page / Indications page: Yes / Yes

Pages / Pages: 22

Catalog No. / Catalog No.: 3E.62

Difficulty / Difficult: Advanced / Advanced

Note / Note: The 2016 Facsimile Edition is print on demand (spiral bound)

The Facsimile 2016 Edition is printed on demand (spiral binding)

  • Listen here / Listen here

    I. Toccata by Andrey Lebedev

    II. Fantasy that counteracts the harp by Ricardo Gallén

    III. Finale by Ricardo Gallén

  • Dedicated to / Dedicated to

    Commissioned by the Julian Bream Trust and dedicated to Julian Bream.

    The Sonata Ars Combinatoria No. 5 was premiered by me at St John's Smith Square in Dec 2014 under the auspices of the Julian Bream Trust in the presence of the composer

  • About the work | About the work

    Not only mathematics enjoys the privilege of the most unusual combinations; the arts -all- take advantage of this multiplicity of spaces, equations, sounds or even the planning of entire cities, calendars, paintings or musical works.

    Bach -among others- goes to combinations that go beyond interval relationships until reaching integral forms. The Fibonacci series appears in the Mass in B minor, while in the Art of the Fugue it expands to the contrapuntal treatment. In the Goldberg Variations and in the Musical Offering the structure takes forms of mind-boggling solidity and inventiveness.


    Not only mathematics are enjoying the privilege of the most astonishing combinations, arts, architecture get advantage of this multiplicity: spaces, equations, sounds, paintings or music -of course-.

    Bach -among others- are usings combinations and intervalic relations besides periodical structures based on Fibonacci (the Golden section). Bach Mass in B minor, The Art of Fugue or The musical Offering. Almost the entire work of Bartok is build on the Golden section (intervals, periods, and the macro-structure in itself).

    Leo brouwer

bottom of page